Starting off bad
This week is not getting off to the best start. I didn't get enough sleep Sunday night so I was unable to make myself get up at 4:30. Went to work, came home, changed and went out for my walk. I could only do 30 minutes before my hip and back started hurting too bad to continue. So, I thought, I'll do 45 minutes tomorrow morning but I forgot to set my clock and didn't get up until almost 6:00. It's also a little weird that I woke up tired, not rested. So as I'm writing this at 7:45 a.m., I feel like I've been up all night. Things definitely have to get better as the day goes on because I'm going to get back out there after work and give it another go. Wish me luck; I'm gonna need it.

1 Comments:
At 8:33 AM,
Dusty said…
First off, glad to see that you are still looking up. A positive attitude will go a long way. Second, did you by chance consult your doctor before you started this training program? There are certain supplements that will help with joint pain and damage. It might not be a bad idea to give your doctor a call and get the scoop on them. It just sounds like your body is trying to rebel against the training. It got used to a sedentary lifestyle and liked it. It's not as willing to let that go as you are. Hang in there and do everything you can to keep going.
We have all heard the sayings like, "No pain, No gain!" or "Pain is weakness leaving the body!" You know, that's all a bunch of crap! Pain is the body's way of saying, "STOP!!!" There's also pain that comes in the form of sore muscles or stiffness that comes from a workout. The key is being able to identify the different types. Any type of physical activity is going to bring with it it's share of hurts. Some are expect and some are not. When it comes to joint pain, that's something you need to pay attention to. Muscle soreness wears off, and sometimes joint pain will too, but it could be an ongoing concern. For example, when I run over 6 miles at a time, my knee starts hurting. Granted, in a day or 2 it goes away, but I know there is an underlying problem there because when it hurts, it's not a "muscle soreness" kind of hurt. It's a "dang, what the heck is going on in my knee" kind of hurt.
Like I say, be able to differentiate between the two and don't hesitate to see your doctor. If pride gets in the way, you won't ever get the chance to run your race because you won't be able to walk come race time. Take care of your body and it will take care of you and get you across that finish line.
Your doing great!!!
Post a Comment
<< Home