Encouraged!
Well, after lying around all weekend, I got up this morning to get ready to see the orthopaedic specialist and didn't think I was going to make it. Both my knees hurt so bad I could barely walk. I made it to see the doctor and was very encouraged by what he told me. I left the doctor's office with a prescription for pain medication and a cane. I will need to do some in home exercises this week, then Monday I'm scheduled for an MRI just to rule out possible problems that can't be detected by regular x-rays. Hopefully, it's just really bad bruising of the cartilage under my kneecap. He says we have plenty of time before October to get things cleared up and I shouldn't try to get back into the full swing of things before I'm completely healed. So I'll be doing the home exercises plus the recumbent bicycle. I stopped to get the cane and headed for the pharmacy, came home, popped a pain pill and now I feel so much better and don't even need the cane. LOL I really think that feeling better is a combination of the pain pill and the relief that I haven't done permanent damage to my knee and I'll be going to Chicago with you guys after all! Thanks to all of you for your support and concern! Although I won't be able to participate just yet, I plan to see you all on Saturday.

5 Comments:
At 8:47 PM,
Believe in Miracles ~ Lisa B Davis said…
Hang in there! You seem to have a really great attitude. I just know you are going to get better. Good luck with the MRI...
At 9:33 PM,
cjonesrun said…
Good news! Hope;fully that MRI will back up what the doc thinks and I feel sure it will...these guys see "knees" everyday all day long. Sounds like you will be Chicago bound!
At 5:48 AM,
Did I Just Do What I Think I Did? said…
Great news, Sheila!
Can't wait for you to get back in the swing of things! Don't push it though. We missed you Saturday.
Jana
At 10:50 AM,
Christa said…
YEAH SHEILA!!!! I am so glad to hear this. Athough you are in much worse pain than I was, it sounds like I had the same thing a while back. I took 2 weeks off and I focused on strengthening my quads, and I'm as good as new (relatively speaking!). I am so glad you are not out of the game. It wouldn't be the same without you! Glad you'll be there on Saturday! See ya then!
At 1:35 PM,
nissannurse said…
Keep the chin up!! I'm pulling for you!!
Post a Comment
<< Home